Official Nebraska Government Website

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Chadron State College

University of Nebraska at Omaha

Metropolitan Community College

Mid-Plains Community College

Peru State College

University of Nebraska at Omaha

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture at Curtis

Wayne State College

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Central Community College at Hastings

What's New   

The percentage of 2012-13 public-school ACE scholarship recipients who went on to college after high school - compared to just 51.5% of other low-income students. The ACE scholarship enables low-income Nebraska students to take college courses while still in high school. The Coordinaing Commission administers the ACE program. Click "refresh" for another Nebraska higher-education number.

The dollar amount, in millions, awarded to low-income Nebraska college students during the 2013-14 school year through the Nebraska Opportunity Grant program. The Coordinating Commission administers this program. Learn moreClick "refresh" for another Nebraska higher-education number.

The year Nebraska’s first state college was created. Known today as Peru State College, the State Normal School was originally established as an institution to train teachers.Click "refresh" for another Nebraska higher-education number.

The year Nebraskans voted to amend the state constitution and create the current version of the Coordinating Commission, with increased duties and responsibilities. Nearly every state has a similar agency that coordinates postsecondary activity. Click "refresh" for another Nebraska higher-education number.

The year the Nebraska Legislature combined all public two-year schools in the state to create one system comprised of six community colleges. Today, there are still six community colleges in the state. Click "refresh" for another Nebraska higher-education number.

The number of Commissioners, appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature, that serve as voting members of the Coordinating Commission. Commissioners serve six-year terms and are either appointed as at-large members or representing one of the state’s six judicial districts. Click "refresh" for another Nebraska higher-education number.


Nebraska's Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education (CCPE) serves as an independent voice within Nebraska's higher education system. The CCPE is a state constitutional agency, whose mission is to promote sound policies for Nebraska's state and community colleges and the University of Nebraska. The CCPE balances the best interests of taxpayers, students and Nebraska's postsecondary institutions. Similar agencies are found in nearly every state.

The Coordinating Commission’s responsibilities include:

• Collaborating with the state’s public colleges and universities to implement a plan that will guide Nebraska’s higher education system

• Administering student financial aid programs

• Conducting research and publishing reports on higher education issues

• Authorizing academic programs

• Approving proposals for facilities

• Reviewing institutions' budget proposals and making recommendations to the State Legislature

• Approving applications from out-of-state institutions

Research Spotlight

2015 Nebraska Higher Education Progress Report - This report provides the Nebraska Legislature with comparative statistics to monitor and evaluate progress toward achieving the state's key priorities for postsecondary education. The Commission is required by statute to produce this report annually.